Confidential Records

click any of the tags to navigate to each page

Back to news


Robin Taylor Zander (RTZ) has unveiled his eleven-song debut album 'The Distance' today, a collection which finds the jack-of-all-trades musician known as "Cheap Trick's secret weapon" (Rolling Stone) showcasing his equally masterful songwriting and production for the first time. A touring member of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees since his early 20s, it was RTZ's own original work that caught the attention of legendary producer Jack Douglas (John Lennon, Aerosmith, The New York Dolls, Patti Smith) - who founded just-formed Confidential Records with Robin as his first new artist. RTZ is still in his 20s, but most of 'The Distance' is nearly a decade in the making - evolving and growing right beside him from one stage of life to the next. The culmination of his musical life to date.

Effortlessly rotating between guitar, bass and drums during 'The Distance' recording sessions, as he does on tour with Cheap Trick, RTZ is bringing this new material to the live stage this month with a dynamic full band. On April 18 at a sold-out Webster Hall, he made his triumphant New York debut alongside Joe Perry - and on Thursday April 27 he'll play his first Los Angeles headline show at Hotel Cafe. Beforehand, he's celebrating the long road to 'The Distance' with a New York album release party at The Delancey tonight (April 21).

“I’m really excited for people to hear my debut record 'The Distance,'" says Robin. "This collection of songs is wide ranging in both style and influence. You may hear something that reminds you of a different time or a different place. Hopefully this record makes you feel a certain kind of way, whichever way that may be is fine with me. Listen carefully and enjoy the delicious melodies.”

The Distance was recorded by RTZ in Catskill, New York with co-producer Kenny Siegal (Neko Case, Langhorne Slim), featuring contributions from many members of the Woodstock music community nearby - including new wave legend Wreckless Eric, harpist Mikaela Davis (who also provides backing vocals) and a horn section led by Jay Collins of Levon Helm’s Midnight Ramble Band. The album draws from his love of vintage and contemporary music alike - artists like T. Rex and Harry Nilsson, alongside Cate Le Bon and Melody’s Echo Chamber - but is defined by RTZ cementing his own sound within those vast inspirations.

RTZ - The Distance Track List

What Am I To Do

The Distance


All Our Troubles

High N Low

Down and Out

Ize On The Prize

Time In Need

In Front Of Me

Golden Rule

Seize The Day


Your Cart (0)

Your cart is empty